Death by Brownie…

Quite honestly THE most amazing Brownies ever invented

WARNING – this recipe has a very high percentage of crushing will power and making you a few pounds heavier

I have made many a Brownie recipe over the past few years but I was yet to find the perfect Brownie. They’re either too cakey, crumbly or not rich enough. But behold! I stumbled across this recipe after seeing some Brownies on another bloggers site and after being hit by that all too familiar chocolate craving, I decided to adventure into the world of the internet and find that heavenly recipe I had been longing for. I returned to a website which I take much solitude and trust in, BBC Good Food. You know its going to be a good recipe when you see the words ‘400g of Dark chocolate’ and ‘8 eggs’. The mix of these Brownies is very different to other recipes I have followed. The mix isnt runny at all, it’s almost a mousse-like goo, which I have to say I couldn’t resist at all and ended up with chocolate mix up to my cheeks. But who am I kidding, that happens every time I bake. I have to be real serious now and tell you that you HAVE to bake these. PLEASE, you will not regret it. I need to pass on this amazing recipe and share the indulgence. I can now officially confess in shame that I have eaten 11 Brownies, and have loved every single one of them!

I made these a week ago today, and due to my laziness and mound of exam prep. I havent blogged it until today. However, there is one upside to this. At least my lazy nature has given me the opportunity to say that these Brownies are still as tasty today as they were last week, even if they are a little hard on the outside they are still gooey inside! Which, I think we can all agree, is the most important part. These Brownies are the perfect mix of moist chocolateyness with a gooey but dense centre and a slightly more cakey outside. The complete and ultimate chocolate goodness.

Ingredients – Makes 16 (Medium sized)

Recipe from BBCGoodFood

  • 400g Dark Chocolate (60% and above cocoa solids)
  • 325g unsalted Butter
  • 6 Eggs
  • 2 Egg Yolks
  • 300g Caster sugar
  • 50g Cocoa powder
  • 80g Plain Flour

Method

Heat the oven to 180 or 160 degrees C for a fan oven. Butter the edges of a 20cm square baking tin and line the base with baking parchment. Next, melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a pan of boiling water until smooth and glossy. Mix the 6 eggs, 2 egg yolks and sugar in a bowl until pale. Add the cooled chocolate mix and sieve in the flour and cocoa powder, stir until well combined. Pour into the baking tin and bake for 20-30 minutes. (Mine seemed slightly uncooked in the centre at 30 minutes but firmed up a lot once cooled) You should be left with a thin crisp top and a dense centre.

QUICK UPDATE: My mum was searching around in the freezer today, and came across one of these beauties wrapped up in a bit of cling film. So she de-frosted it and hey presto, she said it was as if I had just made it! The brownie had been frozen for about 5 weeks! So feel free to freeze them ready for your next brownie craving! That is all :)

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cookies/Biscuits/Bars and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death by Brownie…

  1. I have no will power, and I’m going to try these anyway!

Leave a Reply

