Ooey gooey chocolate goodness

Molten chocolate babycakes

Oh my!! I am sitting in full blown satisfaction, sprawled over the sofa right now. I love a bit of chocolate and I love a bit of cake, so this dessert is all the things I love in one. But is that enough? No. I need a gooey fudgey stream of shiney sauce to bring it all together. This was literally like a party in my mouth, I really could have sprung out of my chair and done the ‘this is the most glorious thing I have ever put in my mouth’ wiggle dance. I have become such a chocoholic beast at the moment and could easily eat another one of these little pieces of heaven. As you all know, from my previous posts, I am a huge lover of cream and as you can see that it was my choice of topping. Cream makes everything better. The creator of this recipe is one of my most loved cooks, Nigella Lawson. I have never made a recipe of hers that I havent whole-heartedly loved. I really recommend these beauties for a dinner party as they can be made in advance and only take a short time to bake. So boogey on into your kitchen and get your chocolate groove on.

Ingredients – Makes 6

  • 50g soft unsalted butter, plus more for greasing
  • 350g best dark chocolate
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 4 large eggs, beaten with a pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 50g plain plour
  • 6 individual pudding moulds, buttered and lined with baking parchment

Method

Preheat the oven to 200ºC, and put in a baking sheet. Place 3 of the moulds on a sheet of doubled up baking parchment. Draw round them, then cut out the circles and place one into the base of the tins. Repeat for the rest of the tins.

Melt the chocolate and let it cool slightly. Cream together the butter and sugar. Next, gradually beat in the eggs, salt and the vanilla. Add the flour, and combine well. Pour in the cooled chocolate, mixing it until it is very smooth. Pour the batter between the 6 moulds equally, quickly take the baking sheet out of the oven, place the filled tins on it and place back into the oven. If you are leaving them in the fridge for later, then place clingfilm over each, making sure you press the film over the top of the chocolate mix to prevent a skin from forming.

Cook for 10-12 minutes (add an extra 2 minutes onto the cooking time if the puddings have been refridgerated) Take your babycake out of the oven and run a knife around the edge of the tin to loosen the cake. Tip out the cakes onto plates and serve with whipped double cream, pouring cream, creme fraiche or ice cream.

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Hot Dishes/Chilled Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ooey gooey chocolate goodness

  1. I love molten cakes! There is just something about that melted chocolate!

  2. Oh man…this should be illegal! Looks so good! :)

Leave a Reply

