Banana and Chocolate whoopie pies!

Banana Whoopie Pies with Chocolate buttercream

Mmm I love a good bit of banana bread, but a piece of banana bread with a chocolate drizzle? Heaven. That’s what these lovely whoopie pies encompass really, chocolate chip banana bread but in whoopie pie form. I am in love. I have made whoopie pies in the past but none as good as these. I usually make a marshmallow filling but can never wait long enough for it to set, so it always ends up falling apart as I try to shove it into my mouth. Then I emerge from my kitchen with a whoopie pie mess up to my elbows and dotted around my face, attempting to look innocent and nonchalant. So this time, I went with a buttercream. And may I say so myself, I created this buttercream and it is mmmmmm oh so sumptuous. These pies have a hint of banana in them but not overpowering so, and even my mum (who doesn’t like banana bread) said they were yummy. The chocolate buttercream is silky and sweet, and the chocolate drizzle on top… well that’s just for prettiness :) I have to say, I did eat half the batch of these (I lower my head in shame) and it took all my will power to not sneak into the kitchen and eat the one reserved for my mum. I just love the idea of whoopie pies, whats better than a small cake all to yourself? That kind of feels like a cookie? Its just puzzling but amazing at the same time.

Ingredients – Makes 8 filled pies

Recipe adapted from here

  • 6 0z of ripe Bananas (about 2)
  • 1/4 tsp. Lemon
  • 2 cups self-raising flour (If you dont have this, then use the link and use half of the recipes plain flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt instead)
  • 1/2 cup of oil (any flavourless oil; vegetable, canola, rapeseed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (packed)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

Chocolate Buttercream

  • 75g butter (very soft)
  • 110g icing sugar
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp. milk

Topping

  • Dark or Milk chocolate (whatever you have is fine)

Method

Peel your bananas, put them in a bowl with the lemon juice and mash them using a fork. (You can use a food processor for this, but I like a bit of texture to my cakes so I use a fork) Until they are pureed but with a few small lumps still.

In a medium bowl measure out your flour (and your baking powder, baking soda and salt if not using self-raising flour) In another bowl, beat together the oil, eggs, granulated and brown sugar and vanilla. Add your banana puree and mix again. Add your flour mix and combine thoroughly. Refrigerate for 30 minutes so that the mix is easier to pipe.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 F or 180 C. Using a piping bag fitted with a large plain tip, pipe circles onto a prepared baking sheet, leaving roughly 1 1/2 inches between them or your pies will join together during baking. Whilst piping you should leep your pastry bag  vertical to achieve nice round tops. Immediately put them in the oven for 10 minutes, they are done when they are slightly browned and springy when pressed.

Leave the pies to cool on a wire cooling rack. For the buttercream filling, cream the icing sugar and cocoa together in a bowl and slowly add the milk, 1 tsp at a time until it has loosened but can still hold its shape and can be spread. Using a flat knife, put some filling on the underneath of half of the pie halfs and sandwich another half on top. For the decoration, melt a few cubes of chocolate in the microwave and then add a tsp of icing sugar to it. Mix until it is silky with no lumps. Then, using a spoon drizzle the chocolate in lines on top of the whoopie pies and leave to set. Next… um eat them!

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cookies/Biscuits/Bars and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Banana and Chocolate whoopie pies!

  1. gercakes says:

    Wow, these look so good!

  2. mydearbakes says:

    This is a fantastic recipe, thanks so much for sharing! =)

Leave a Reply

