Everyone needs more S’more Marshmallows!

S’more marshmallows

Right now, I’m sitting on my sofa scoffing down a handful of homemade toasted marshmallows, watching Bridget Jones Diary. Perfect night? I think so. However many times I watch this film, it never gets boring and always feels like it’s the first time I’ve seen it. That is exactly how I feel about marshmallows. I eat one, then forget how good they are so I get another, and another and another… you see how it goes. Everytime I devour one its like an epiphany and I just think ‘oh my god, why don’t I make these more often?!’ I have been wanting to try out making some more confectionary items recently and stumbled across a S’mores marshmallow recipe on Edd Kimbar’s blog. I love this man, I think he is a god send to the sugar crazy bakers of the world. I have his recipe book ‘The Boy who Bakes’ and I can honestly say that I have loved every recipe I have tried. I highly recommend buying it, you wont regret it. Unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients for his recipe, but loving the idea, I went in search of a different marshmallow recipe. I literally spent about an hour trying to find a recipe that didn’t use corn syrup or powdered gelatine. And I finally found one! This recipe uses leaf gelatine and liquid glucose. I nearly started lose the will to live when I realised I didn’t have any liquid glucose but soon found out you can replace it with honey! Hallelujah! I was so happy. These marshmallows are soft, squidgy, sticky and creamy at the same time, which basically defines the perfect marshmallow. With the added chocolate and gram cracker/digestive crust, it is pure indulgence. I also love the fact that you can toast these and you suddenly have a gooey s’more without any of the fuss of the biscuit and chocolate, it’s all there for you already. I made some with the s’more crust and left the others plain to bask in their vanilla glory. They really do make me swoon.

Ingredients – Dont know how much it makes… a lot

Recipe from here

  • 9 sheets leaf gelatine
  • 450g sugar
  • 1 tbsp liquid glucose or honey
  • 200 ml water
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • icing sugar
  • cornflour

To make into S’more Marshmallows

  • Milk or dark Chocolate
  • Digestives or Gram Crackers

Method

Lightly oil a shallow baking tray with your fingers or a pastry brush and dust it with sieved icing sugar and cornflour. Rest the gelatine in 140ml cold water. Put the sugar, glucose (or honey) and water into a large pan. Bring the mix to the boil and continue to cook for about 10-15 minutes until the mixture reaches 127C on a sugar thermometer.

Meanwhile, whisk the egg whites until stiff. To do this you should use a standing mixer or an electric whisk. When the syrup reaches the temperature, add in the softened gelatine sheets along with the water they were sitting in. The syrup will bubble and it can burn so be careful. Pour the hot syrup slowly into the mixer whilst whisking the egg whites. The mixture will become shiny and start to thicken. Add the vanilla extract (and colouring if using) and continue whisking for about 5-20 minutes, until the mixture is stiff and thick enough to hold its shape. Dont worry if your mix isnt very thick, it will thicken as it sets. Spoon the mixture into the prepared tin and smooth over. Leave for at least 1 hour to set.

Dust the work surface with icing sugar and cornflour (using equal parts icing sugar and cornflour). Loosen the marshmallow around the sides of the tray with a palette knife, and then turn it out on to the dusted surface. Cut into squares or desired shape and roll in the sugar and cornflour.

 

For S’more Marshmallows:

Melt your chocolate and crush your biscuits. Dip half your marshmallows in the chocolate and roll in the biscuits. Leave t0 set on baking parchment.

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Confectionary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everyone needs more S’more Marshmallows!

  1. trialsinfood says:

    sounds like the perfect marshmellows!

  2. Pingback: Salted Butter Caramels | SweetCraving

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Honeycomb | SweetCraving

Leave a Reply

