A celebration Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake

It’s my sister’s birthday! Well… it was her birthday 2 days ago and I made her this indulgent Cheesecake. My sissie loves Cheesecake so I thought that this would be the perfect take on a Birthday Cake for her. When we were younger she used to sneak up behind me and make me jump, in consequence making me cry. Our relationship then progressed to me throwing hard back books at her face (evil laugh.) But now, we’re like two pea’s in a pod constantly in hysterics whenever we’re together. So Happy Birthday Gemma, hope you’re not getting too fat with my obsessive baking.

Now for this amazing piece of greed on a plate. I know I go on about how glorious everything is but I was honestly in awe after my first bite of this Cheesecake. On Smitten Kitchen’s website, there are SO many comments dedicated to how purely heavenly this recipe is but being cynical me, I still thought it would be really great but not amazing. Hell was I wrong! The filling is rich and deep in flavour which really compliments the sweeter crumb base. The texture is creamy and light as a mousse. Four of us devoured the cake in 2 days… yes, a quarter each. So now I’m jumping on the band wagon and agreeing that this is just lovely. I would like to also just quickly share with you the most adorable wrapping paper that my mum brought for my sisters presents. Isn’t it so sweet?! A little baking bear. I’m pretty sure they take over our kitchens while we’re out.

Ingredients – Recipe from Smitten Kitchen

Crumb Crust – I doubled this crumb recipe as I and Deb from Smitten Kitchen like a thick crust!

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground cookies such as chocolate wafers (or chocolate digestives)
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
Cheesecake
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup heavy/double cream
  • 8 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), chopped
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Method

Crumb – Lightly butter your cheesecake tin on the bottom and up the sides. Use a food processor to grind the cookies into crumbs. If you don’t have a food processor, simply put your cookies into a bag or folded towel and pound with a rolling pin. Mix all of the ingredients together until combined and press into your tin along the bottom and an inch up the sides of the tin. Refrigerate whilst making the cheesecake.

Cheesecake – Preheat your oven to 350F or 170C. Cook your sugar in a large saucepan on medium to low heat, stirring occasionally with a fork until melted. Continue to cook the caramel, only swirling the pan, until it becomes a deep golden colour. Take your caramel off the heat and add the cream. Next, place the pan back over the low heat, stirring to melt the caramel again.

Take off the heat again and add in the chocolate. Once the chocolate is incorporated, add in the sour cream and stir until smooth. Beat the cream cheese in an electric mixer or with an electric whisk until fluffy. Then add in the chocolate mixture whilst beating on low speed. Add in the eggs one at a time and then the vanilla until fully combined. Take your tin with the crust and place on a baking tray so that it will catch any leaking. Pour your cheesecake filling into your tin and bake for 45-55 minutes, until the outside is set and the inside is still slightly wobbly when shaken gently.

Once your cheesecake is done, run a sharp knife around the inside edge of the cake tin to loosen the crust and cool completely in its tin on a cooling rack. Your cake will set as it cools and will also fall. Chill your cake, loosely covered with foil for at least 6 hours. When ready to serve, bring to room temperature and remove the side of the tin and transfer cake to a plate.

To decorate – Melt some white chocolate and place in a piping bag, dot around your cake.

About thegreedysprout

A plant and animal loving baker!
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A celebration Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

