Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes with Lime Buttercream (and some news)

Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes with Lime Buttercream

Every now and again I get that familiar urge to mess around with a recipe and put a bit of myself in there. I’m pretty sure a lot of you know the same niggling feeling I’m talking about! Inspired by the somewhat summery weather we’ve been getting, I decided to play around with a Lemon Cupcake and pack in a whole lot of flavour with some fresh raspberries; because everyone knows that’s a bloody great combination. And then some buttery sweet Lime Buttercream swirled on top? I literally couldn’t think of anything better. I’m really not much of a lover of Cupcakes but these, I would happily make some room for in my kitchen. The one thing I do love about Cupcakes is that they can pack so much flavour into a few bites; and I can assure you that these are no exception. The fresh Raspberries create a tangy but fruity taste that works really well against the sweetened Lemon Cupcake and zingy Buttercream. This is one of those recipes that I will revisit over and over again, refining it until it is the best Lemon Cupcake imaginable!

On another note, I have some exciting news that I have been keeping from you all. I’ve been accepted onto a Patisserie Scholarship course at Westminster college! It’s 2 years long and all extremely exciting. A large part of my course is having a work placement in a kitchen, so I am in the process of trialing for various companies. So lets just hope I get an apprenticeship in time for September! On an even more riveting note, I had a 2 day trial at Claridges this week! And yes, my nerves were dancing around all over the place but after a while I got comfortable and really enjoyed myself. It was interesting seeing how everything worked in a large pastry kitchen. Everyone was really accepting of me working with them for the day and it was nice to be part of the team. It really made me realise that this is exactly what I want to pursue as a career. So keep your fingers crossed for me! And if any of you are thinking of taking your hobby one step further, just go for it!

Ingredients – Recipe adapted from Mary Berry’s Lemon Cupcakes (Makes 12)

  • 125g unsalted butter, soft
  • 125g self-raising flour
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • Zest if 1 large lemon or 2 small
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • Raspberries

Lime Buttercream – Recipe adapted from How to: Cupcakes

  • 113g soft butter
  • 2-3 cups icing sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. lime zest
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp. lime juice
  • 1/8 tsp. salt

Method

Cupcakes: Line a muffin tin with 12 paper cases. Place all of your ingredients into a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or with the paddle attachment on a kitchen aid, until fully combined and smooth. Using a piping bag, pipe the mix into your paper cases evenly. Preheat your oven at 180C/ gas mark 4. Place 2 raspberries in each case, pushing into the batter. Next, using a knife, smooth some batter over the top of the raspberries so you can’t see them anymore. Bake in the oven for 20-25  minutes. Take out of the muffin tin and leave to cool completely before icing.

Lime Buttercream: Place all of your buttercream ingredients into a bowl (except the juice and sugar) and combine using an electric whisk. Next add the icing sugar and combine with a spoon first (this will help prevent the icing sugar from flying up everywhere later) Once the mix is slightly incorporated, using an electric whisk to combine the ingredients completely. Transfer into a piping bag once smooth and stiff enough to hold its shape (you can add more icing sugar or juice depending on if you want your buttercream thicker or thinner) Pipe onto your cupcakes and garnish with raspberries and fresh zest.

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes with Lime Buttercream (and some news)

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    These look delicious! Congratulations on your scholarship at Westminster College! You will do well!

  2. sweetcraving says:

    Thank you! Im really looking forward to it and hoping I get a good work placement as its 4-5 days a week!

  3. trkingmomoe says:

    Congratulations. They look yummy.

  4. Candy says:

    Thes look and sound fantastic. Congratulations on your scholarship, well done :-)

  5. wow, fantastic news! So happy for you. Claridges, that’s impressive- how exciting! Bet we are going to learn lots of things off you when you start the course! yippee :)

  6. arzea says:

    Congrats! These look drop dead delicious!

  7. pigtailedpoet says:

    Hi!
    I found this very interesting, and as well as your lovely recipes, I hope you’ll blog more about your course & work placements experiences :)

    I’m in my last year of University studying something completely unrelated to food (sadly), but once I graduate, I’m hoping to pursue a career in pastisserie and pastry. I’d love to know how you find Westminster as I’m seriously considering the International patisserie diploma offered there, however I can’t help but wonder if it would be more beneficial to find a willing chef and try to gain an apprenticeship, learning on the job instead.

    Seeing as you’ve tried both, any advice would really be appreciated :) Thank you!

    Véronique

    • sweetcraving says:

      Oh thank you, that’s so nice. My recent post about college and work was for you haha. I hope it was a little helpful.

      Westminster has good teachers and resources although I think that an apprenticeship teaches you so much in terms of getting used to a kitchen environment and management skills. It also bridges the gap between college and a commis chef role. With my course I go to college 1 day a week and the rest of the week is spent at work. This way I get to learn a lot and get experience.

      However college is still very good for learning and an apprenticeship doesnt teach you all the basic pastry skills. And it is hard at first going into an apprenticeship with the long hours and getting used to the atmosphere, but you just have to persevere!

      So I haven’t been very helpful hahaha. You could always get part time work experience somewhere in London on the weekends as well as going to college.

      Good luck with everything and let me know how everything goes!

      • pigtailedpoet says:

        Oh thank you!

        No, no that’s seriously helpful!- there’s only so much I can really learn from Google searching, you know, so hearing from someone in the know is really useful :’)

        I just read your new post also, thank you! Glad everything is going smoothly, and those macarons look divine! :)

        & thank you, I shall :)

Leave a Reply

