Blueberry Crumb Muffins

Blueberry Crumb Muffins

Yes, hello strangers, it’s me. Finally crawling from under my bed sheets, to force myself to get off my butt and blog for once. The weekends seem to have become a time for hibernation for me, just pure sleep due to my zombie-like overall state. But I think we can all safely say it has been way too long since my last blog, so here am! At the comfort of my computer typing away about my latest kitchen adventure.

But First, let me talk about my adventures on my Patisserie course. Yes its great, yes its all I hoped it would be and yes, I’m fat now. And so is my family. Although the long shifts at work are helping to keep it off a bit.  I’ve already had one of my exams. It’s rated from Pass to Merit to Distinction. I received a Merit, which is OK but I would have much preferred a Distinction but then continued to get one in my presentation. Yay me! Work is exciting, hard, draining but rewarding all at the same time! I love it and still can’t believe Im working at Claridge’s, weeeeeeee. Here are some interesting and some not so interesting pictures from college and work:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now onto these fab-u-lous muffins. Crumb toppings are one of my all time favourite things. They just make the world seem an all over better and brighter place, don’t you think? Yes. Blueberries in muffins is an obvious combo that we’ve all come across once in our lives, but theres something about these which is just unique and positively divine. For one, they come from Ottolenghi’s cookbook which is filled with the most mouth watering concoctions you’ve ever seen (I’m dying to visit one of his shops) so you know its going to be good when it comes from him. This batter is so light and airy it’s almost like a mousse, just beautiful. Combine the bursting flavour of sweet blueberries with a domed, overflowing top… what more could you want?! These gems don’t need much effort but provide a hell of a lot of reward along with the end result. Happy baking guys! Its good to be back.

Ingredients – Makes 12 – Recipe from Ottolenghi The Cookbook

  • 540g plain flour
  • 5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 free-range eggs
  • 340g caster sugar
  • 140g unsalted butter, melted
  • 380ml milk
  • grated zest 1 lemon
  • 1 Granny smith apple, unpeeled, cut into 1cm dice
  • 200g blueberries, plus some for topping

Crumble

  • 150g plain flour
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 100g cold cubed unsalted butter

Method

Crumble: Put all of the ingredients for the crumble into a bowl and work between your fingers to create a breadcrumb-like texture. Using your fingers to create a rubbing motion. Set aside in a cool place.

Muffins: Preheat your oven to 170 C and line your muffin tin with paper cases. Whiskyour eggs, sugar and melted butter (cooled slightly) together. Add in your milk and lemon zest whilst whisking. Then proceed to add in the blueberries, folding them in gently with a spatula. Next add your dry ingredients (sifted) and fold together. Do not fold the mix too much, it should only just be combined and be quite rough looking.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop your mix equally into the muffin cases. Top generously with your crumb topping (don’t be shy!) then add a few more blueberries on top. This topping should create the dome to your muffin so be as greedy as you like. Bake for 30-35 minutes until a tester comes out clean. Take the muffins out of the tin whilst warm so that the crumb topping doesn’t harden onto the tin (some of your muffin domes may get left behind otherwise!)

 

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blueberry Crumb Muffins

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    Oh my! These look so delicious! I love the granny smith apple in the recipe! What delicious flavors : )

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

  2. Geraldine says:

    Wow, they look amazing. Yum!!!!

  3. paula says:

    HOPE! your blog is amazing! i went through the whole thing in one day. Also, 10 minutes in I decided i needed to go to Tesco and get the ingredients for these muffins :) I made them today and they are sooo yummy! I told you i like fruity desserts. I’m thinking about trying that cherry clafoutis next :)
    Enjoy your holiday! See you soon!

    Paula

Leave a Reply

