Cheddar and Thyme Scones

Cheddar Thyme Scones

Weekends are for lazy days, films in the evening and hours spent baking in the kitchen. Theres nothing more I love than wandering around the kitchen in my pyjama’s with the smell of something tempting in the oven. And Scones, well they’re definitely a weekend thing. They’re easy, promise delicious results and completely encompass the feeling of comfort. And yes, that is cheese you see oozing out. Mmm. This recipe comes from the brilliant blog that is Joy The Baker. Her twist on traditional scones really inspired me and got me in the mood for some baking… not that I need much encouragement these days. Joy used feta and chive in her scones but I just changed it to suit what I had in my kitchen as I can never be bothered to walk to the shops!

These are rich in cheddar flavour with a hint of thyme and a little bite of paprika at the end. A bit of chilli jam is the perfect accompaniment to these yummies.

Cheddar Scones

Ingredients – Recipe adapted from Joy The Baker (makes around 16 small scones)

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 3/4 cup natural yoghurt, cold
  • 1 tbsp dried thyme
  • 3/4 cup chunks of mature cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg beaten for egg wash
  • smoked paprika for topping

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

Start by sifting your flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt and pepper into a bowl. Place the butter into the bowl and rub the ingredients between your fingers until it looks like bread crumbs. In another bowl beat your egg, yoghurt and water and add it to the bread crumb mix. Stir with a fork until the mix just comes together. It should look rough and shaggy. Add in the cheddar and thyme and knead the dough a few times on the counter.

Pat out the dough into about 1 inch thickness. Cut the dough using a cutter, I used a 2-inch cutter. Place on the prepared trays. Gather the excess dough and re roll and cut. Once all the dough is used, egg wash the top of the scones and liberally sprinkle on salt, pepper and smoked paprika. Bake for 10-12 minutes, depending on the size.

yummmmReady for the oven!

ready to eat

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Pastry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cheddar and Thyme Scones

  1. These look amaaaaaaazing!!!!
    I bet they would be fantastic with soup! I plan to try them. Mmmmmmmmmm :-)

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

  2. Oh my goodness Hope, if I don’t stop looking at these soon I’ll have to go and make them! {I’m on a minimal calorie day today :( no baked goods for me!} They would be amazing with hot soup on a cold day like this! xxx

  3. I made them this evening to go with some Butternut Squash and apple soup. They were delicious! I switched the thyme for 2 finely sliced spring onions and used cayenne sprinkled on top, yummmmm xxx

Leave a Reply

