Crisp Chocolate Sables

Chocolate Sable

If you have a thing for chocolate then this is a recipe for you. I’m one of those chocolate people. Theres nothing I love more than a gooey and deeply chocolatey pudding. The kind that others would find hard to finish and say ‘oh it’s too rich for me.’ At that point I sit there thinking, how can something be too rich?! I then proceed to finish both mine and their desserts, guilt free. Really, I have no shame when it comes to food. Cream cakes for breakfast? Why not?!

Even though this isn’t an oozing chocolate brownie or a melting fondant, these crisp biscuits don’t disappoint on intense chocolate flavour. I have now eaten nearly 15 of these in the space of a day. I think that says more than I ever can on how good these are. They’re buttery and chocolatey and melt in the mouth but crisp all at the same time! And yes, I did go on about hating crisp cookies in my Chocolate chip and Oat Cookies post. But I’m making an exception for these lovelies.

Choc Sable

Ingredients – Recipe from Smitten Kitchen, originally from Miette  (Makes 30-35 cookies)

  • 125 grams all-purpose flour
  • 30 grams Dutched Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 115 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 135 grams granulated sugar (plus more for decoration)
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 100 grams dark chocolate, grated

Method

Cream the butter, sugar and salt together in a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or by hand. Add the egg yolk and vanilla, beat until combined. Sift in the cocoa, baking soda and flour. Add in the grated chocolate and mix until just combined.

Gather the dough into a ball, cover it in cling film and chill for 30 minutes. Dough can be refrigerated for up to two days.

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C. Roll the dough out onto a lightly floured surface, this dough is quite crumbly so be gentle. Roll the dough to 1/4 inch thickness. Cut using a cookie cutter of your choice and place them on a baking tray lined with baking parchment, an inch apart. Sprinkle with a bit of sugar. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Leave the cookies to cool for a few minutes on the baking trays as they are very fragile when hot. Carefully transfer onto a cooling rack with a palette knife.

IMG_0134IMG_0118

IMG_0137

About addmorebutterplease

When in doubt, add more Butter!
This entry was posted in Cookies/Biscuits/Bars and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crisp Chocolate Sables

  1. chefconnie says:

    I agree about crispy cookie I adore chewy ones. I do like ginger bread cookies crisp and this recipe seems like a chocolate version. I think I will try this.

  2. Oh, I was looking for a good cookie recipe earlier today to fulfil my sweet craving, I wish I had seen these at the time. I think I’ll have to give them a go some point soon!

  3. paula says:

    hope!
    this is the recipe I was telling you about:
    http://eugeniekitchen.com/coffee-sables-recipe-french-diamond-cookies/
    you need to try it, its amazing…I’m gonna make them again soon because I’m starting to crave them :)

Leave a Reply

